Old Friend


Brushing away the tears at the painful memories, she closed the photo album containing pictures of her mother and little sister Silver. She rested her head against the thick covering of the photo album and sighed. How would her life be if her family was all together? Her mind rejected the fact that Silver was also dead.

She was wallowing in self-pity when her eyes drew to the clock on her left. It was the first day in her new job. She was going to be late if she didn’t hurry up. She hurriedly got dressed, grabbed her car keys and was on her way to the back door when the phone in the hallway started ringing.

“Hello, Sarah here!” Her voice was full of irritation.

“Hi, Sarah!” It was Sherry.

“What do you want now?” She demanded, “Didn’t I tell you not to call me again?” Her contempt for him was quite visible in her voice.

“Sarah, I have some stuff which belonged to Silver. I want you to have it. Meet me at 5 at the same place where we met yesterday.” Tears came to her eyes at the mention of her sister; she gulped and tried to keep her voice normal.

“Ok!” Was her only reply. She grabbed her things, locked the door and left.

Seated on the same boulder in the cemetery, she looked out at the same lake. Her eyes kept going to a grave to her left side. It was spread with fresh roses in shades of red and pink. Silvers favorite colors. She jumped down, walked to her grave and knelt beside her.

“What do you want me to do, baby sis? How do I take your revenge? How do I give him the pain he inflicted on all of us?” She wept, her tears falling down on the grave.

“I loved you so much. I never had the chance to tell you that. I always wanted to protect you from harm, please talk to me. Tell me what to do, tell me how to ease this pain.” She kept crying harder, her words jumbled up. Suddenly, she felt a heavy hand on her shoulder. She wiped her tears and turned around to see an old man leaning on a cane and his eyes scrutinizing her closely.

 

Leave a Reply

