#WRITING101 Day 4 – The Pain of Loss


I have never imagined in my life what it would be like to lose somebody who is close to your heart and who means the world to me. I didn’t know the exact meaning of the word love, in any sense. I always thought that we automatically love our parents, from our childhood and nothing, no power can break that bond with them. Of course, I had other concepts about love as well but then I was wrong. Living a sheltered life has it’s perks but it is of no use to those who want to move forward and step in the real world later on. And that is what happened to me.

I am well acquainted with family ties, the love we share with our parents, our siblings, our relatives. I knew all about it because that was what I had seen since I opened my eyes in this world. Then there comes another love, which is hard to get but it is there: the love for our friends. You must be rolling your eyes over the fact that why would I even consider loving a friend but my opinion is what matters here. Here, it’s only me talking and you are the one who is supposed to be listening to me so you have to hear my point of view as well. Don’t think of me as arrogant or pompous, this is the way I am. Well, coming back to the love we were discussing, some friends touch a cord in your heart and become someone without whom you think you are incomplete. Although, from my experience, sometimes this bond turns into a much deeper one, which I wouldn’t name right now.

So, as I was saying, we are taught to love. Love, love, love and then all around us, people love each other, he loves her, she loves him, we hear that right. But, what exactly is love, one must think. Of course, in this time, we can’t expect a love like the Romeo and Juliet kind but it does exist, of that I am sure. But I am not going to discuss love, I am going to discuss the pain of loss. Well, coming to that, we can only experience an excruciating, mind blowing pain on losing someone when our feelings are deeply attached to them. It’s not important who they are, it can be your cat, your dog, your parrot or perhaps a human being. The person is not important but what is important is the fact how attached we become to such people. Of course, those who deny that they don’t get infatuated or attached to a particular someone are lying, but then only those people who have it in them to love can feel the pain.

Let’s see, I had a cat named Julie. She was the most adorable cat that I’ve ever come across and I loved her dearly. She would play with me, watch television on a cushion near the television that she enjoyed sitting on, he face on her paws and sitting there with a tranquil expression on her face. It wasn’t like she understood what was happening, but she sat there in her own quite way showing that she was with me all the time. When she died, due to a toxic bite from some wild insect, I felt like I had lost a friend. It wasn’t like we had huge conversations or stuff but she meant something to me, I loved her for who she was to me.

So, to feel pain for losing someone means that you’ve deep feelings for them. I will discuss these more in the next episode of the pain of loss. Keep tuned!!

One thought on “#WRITING101 Day 4 – The Pain of Loss

Leave a Reply

